Chongqing-First Impression

Well today I flew into Chongqing. I did limited research on the city itself, it was mostly word of mouth I relied on. I had heard they spoke their own language, well had a local dialect, that it was wet, hot and they loved spicy food. So far all of this is true.

Upon landing I noticed that the run ways were wet. Sign number one that it had rained. After collecting my bags, I noticed they had gotten a bit wet as well. Which was fine, and exiting and meeting the Chinese student who would be picking me up she told me it had just rained. However, no one seemed phased. No one had umbrellas or rain coats. It was so humid, all I could think about was how back home that type of humidity would be a big storm. Apparently, that is normal. It just rains, and rains. There will be short breaks but its always humid and wet. Well this student told me I missed the heat, and that it will only be getting cooler as I spend my time here. Thank goodness. I honestly feel like I should be at the beach at a tropical location.

Second, I meet my Chinese Mama, who looks way to young to be a mother. Asians have great genes. Chinese Mama, or Lydia, told me about how her and her husband are always very busy. Which was fine. Chinese Baba is away in Chengdu for business for the night. I shall meet him tomorrow I hope. After Lydia finished her work we went to pick up their daughter, Chichi (nickname). This is where I learnt that Lydia’s parents live above them, and speak only the local dialect. Well, lucky for me that means Chinese Mama speaks multiple languages, not just English and Mandarin. She told me that her husband is really eager to learn English. Which means I may spend a lot of my free time with him learning Mandarin and teaching him English. Now for my real friends, I CAN BARELY SPEAK ENGLISH MY SELF HOW AM I SUPPOSE TO TEACH IT?….

Third, we finally get home and well Chichi has only been making sounds to me. Which is fine since I don’t understand any real words any ways. And her and I eat some ice cream while Chinese Mama made dumplings. Which by the way are so good! But she has this red dipping sauce, and I can tell by just looking at it that its spicy.

Chichi will ask me questions and I know she is because she stares and says something and finishes with ‘ma’ which loosely translates to question mark. Now, I can’t even say yes yet, so I just stare back until she looks away. Thankfully, Chinese Mama comes to the rescue and translates for me. Plus teaches me the correct response.

Also, I have gotten better with chopsticks during this short period of time!
Tomorrow we will be dropping Chichi off at darecare and then I will be brought to the university and one of the students will show me around and help me get everything I need to live my life here.

Also guys I have my own shower, and bathroom, but its a squatting toilet. Past that everything is awesome here.

Well I’ll let you know how first week goes.

 
7
Kudos
 
7
Kudos

Now read this

Classes, Classes and Exploring

So, I arrived in Chongqing on Friday and spent some time with my Chinese Family and some Chinese students learning the area around. The real adventure however started on Monday. I learnt that their first year students wear a uniform for... Continue →